Planning Commission

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Penny Newman, Chair
  • Arleen Pruitt, Chair Pro Tem 
  • Hakan Jackson, Commissioner
  • Laura Shultz, Commissioner
  • Armando Carmona, Commissioner

Commission Overview

The Planning Commission is composed of five citizens, appointed by the City Council, who help plan for the City’s growth, economic vitality and environmental quality. The Commission reviews and makes final decisions on many types of planning applications, such as land use permits, subdivisions and environmental review. The Commission also makes recommendations to the City Council on planning applications that require Council approval.

In addition, the Commission advises the Council on long-range planning matters, such as zoning and the General Plan.