News Flash

Home - News Carousel

Posted on: December 21, 2020

Press Release Regarding 12/15/2020 Use of Force Incident

Serrano Press Release 12.21.20

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


December 21, 2020

Mayor Lorena Barajas

City Manager, Rod Butler

 

 

City of Jurupa Valley asks for a Full and Thorough Investigation

 

JURUPA VALLEY, CA – In regards to the use of force incident that occurred at the Stater Bros. Market in the community of Rubidoux on December 15, 2020, the City of Jurupa Valley has requested a full and thorough investigation by the Riverside County Sheriff’s Department and transparency for the Serrano family and all of our residents.

 

The City supports the important work that the Sheriff’s Department does for all of us, but we believe in full transparency when an individual dies while in Sheriff’s custody.  We anticipate that the Sheriff’s Department will be hosting a press conference sometime today with further information.  Please visit their website at: www.riversidesheriff.org.

 

We ask the community to remain calm and patient while this investigation continues. We assure you that a full report is forthcoming and will be released to you as soon as possible.  In the interim, please visit the city’s website at: www.jurupavalley.org or the city’s social media accounts, FB, Twitter for accurate information.  If you would like to contact the City Manager or Mayor/City Council, here are their email addresses:

 

City Manager Rod Butler:  rbutler@jurupavalley.org

Mayor Lorena Barajas:  lbarajas@jurupavalley.org 

Mayor Pro Tem Chris Barajas:  cbarajas@jurupavalley.org 

Council Member Leslie Altamirano:  laltamirano@jurupavalley.org

Council Member Brian Berkson: bberkson@jurupavalley.org 

Council Member Guillermo Silva: gsilva@jurupavalley.org 


Press Release (PDF)

 

### 

Facebook Twitter Email